Saving Work, Backing Up & Exporting Projects



Saving: 
When working in DM, work is done on a local instance of a project and is then saved to the host server every few seconds, at any moment when changes to a project occur. This process of saving is displayed in the righthand bottom of any text document in which you are working (e.g “Saving . . .” & “Saved.”).  However, you must be online for your work to be saved. If you are not online (and therefore connected to the server), and continue to make changes to a project, they will not become a permanent part of the project until an Internet connection is reestablished and the program can save the work that has occurred. If the local connection to the server is broken, or if it senses some other conflict in saving the data (say, a user is working in one project, but then opened a second browser window and logged out or switched projects), the program will produce an alert notifying the user of the issue:

DM Save Failed 2

Occasionally, there may be momentary interruptions to the server connection that can trigger this alert. If this occurs, dismissing the alert and making an additional change in the program to a text document (e.g. typing another but of text) can verify if the program has resumed saving. Look for the “Saved” notification in the bottom left of the text document frame to confirm that the program is again saving as normal:

DM-Saved



Backing Up & Exporting: Any DM server will automatically make backups of all projects on an hourly basis, and will save several these versions of backups on a rolling basis contingent upon available server space, automatically removing a backup once it is 60 or 90 days old. For more information about these backup routines, and how to reconfigure them, see their GitHub documentation. If a project or projects need to be restored, the entire DM project list for a server can be restored to a previous version.

Users may also make manual backups of individual projects to save on their own computer, which can be uploaded to launch a version of a saved DM project on a new DM host server. These backups contain all image files associated with a project, as well as the text, link and annotation content and data, stored as a Turtle (.ttl) file.

  1. Open the table of contents.
  2. Click the “Download” button in the top-left corner of the table of contents.
  3. Allow a few minutes for a large project to download.
  4. Project backup will download a .zip archive.

The data in these backups are available as JPEG files for images and turtle (.ttl) files of the RDF-triple database, which is available to be mined or used in other environments or resources, should the user desire to do so.

For the long term, DM 2.0 is designed to run on the most recent version of all standard browsers, and will be updated to continue to do so as long as the resource is useful as an online resource. At some point, of course, something better will come along, and DM is designed to allow users to access their data so that projects can take on new lives in whatever format or software supersedes DM as a way to publish annotated digital data. For this, DM 2.0 will also continue and improve DM 1.0’s ability to save and export a project’s linked and annotated data for uses outside of the DM environment.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close